What is an M2M SIM card?

M2M is the abbreviation for machine-to-machine and means that machines communicate with each other or exchange data. An M2M SIM card in turn ensures that machines and other devices have access to the internet or mobile phone network to transmit data. In this overview, we explain what M2M SIM cards in general are all about.

An overview: Features and special characteristics of M2M SIM cards

An M2M SIM card is a SIM card that enables devices such as alarm systems, vending machines, trucks and many others to establish a connection to the mobile network and transmit data via it.

A "normal" SIM card, such as the one you know from your own smartphone, is only suitable to a limited extent. Although M2M SIM cards do not differ visually from SIMs for smartphones, they pursue a different purpose and offer correspondingly different functions. In the context of M2M communication, for example, it is important that the device can establish a data connection anywhere and at any time. It can't do that with a normal SIM card; instead, it needs an M2M SIM card.

Standard & Industrial: Different forms and properties of M2M SIMs

In order to meet the different requirements of end devices and machines, SIM formats have been and continue to be constantly developed. To ensure that the SIM cards themselves take up as little space as possible, the size has been significantly reduced, leaving more room for other components if required. Basically, a distinction is made between the SIM card formats mini, micro and nano. There are also embedded SIMs that are soldered directly into the modem as a chip. In addition to the standard version, the different formats are also available as "Industrial SIM". This more robust variant is designed, for example, for an extended temperature range and a longer service life.

SIM formats of the whereversim
Available SIM Formats
Operating Temperature
Read/write Cycles
Data Retention
Standard M2M SIM

-25°C to +85°C

Read/write Cycles

500.000

10 years

Industrial M2M SIM

-40°C to +105°C

1.000.000

10 years at -40°C to +105°C
15 years at -25°C to +85°C

2FF, 3FF, 4FF

2FF, 3FF, MFF2


Network access: More networks for IoT projects

M2M SIMs can use a variety of mobile networks of different network operators both nationally and internationally (national roaming) and thus enable a connection for IoT and M2M projects almost everywhere. Conventional SIM cards usually only use the network of the SIM-issuing network operator, i.e. the provider with whom the mobile phone contract was concluded, especially in Germany. However, the availability of this one network varies depending on the location: sometimes there is good reception, sometimes there is none at all.

In order to avoid disconnections as much as possible in IoT and M2M projects, M2M SIM cards can also use the networks of different network operators (in Germany Telekom, Vodafone and O2) within Germany. M2M SIM cards are therefore also called multi-network SIMs or roaming SIMs.

But even with M2M SIM cards there are differences in network access: SIMs from independent companies, such as the wherever SIM, do not prefer any mobile network and thus allow the device to connect to the best possible network at the location. In this context, one also speaks of network independence or uncontrolled roaming. The M2M SIMs of the major network operators usually prioritise their own network. So before a terminal device is allowed to connect to the network of another mobile network operator, its own network must no longer be available. Until then, the device - no matter how poor the reception - always remains in the network of one network operator. This prioritisation of networks can be a disadvantage, especially for projects in which a strong and reliable connection is permanently required.

SIM management and monitoring via platform

M2M SIM cards are connected to a platform for easier management. This is used to configure both the SIM cards and the associated endpoints. For example, service profiles can be set up for M2M SIMs, SIM cards can be activated and deactivated or mobile networks can be excluded for use(blacklisting).

In addition, comprehensive monitoring is possible via such portals. Users can see the status of the end device, whether and to which network the SIM card is connected and how much data it transmits. In the event of a problem, various diagnostic functions such as a remote reset of the SIM card can help.

At wherever SIM, we offer a clear online portal and a comprehensive API for easier management of M2M SIM cards, which can be used to transfer data from the wherever SIM portal to your own systems.

Monitoring and surveillance

In addition to technical performance, the online portal is an important tool for monitoring SIM cards against misuse, improper use or unexpectedly high costs.

Cost control can be carried out via various configuration options. The configuration of permitted networks and countries ensures that end devices only connect according to the booked tariffs. Additional data limits and notifications prevent overconsumption or overuse of data or at least provide information in time to make further decisions. However, once a data limit is set and reached, the device cannot transfer any more data unless the limit is suspended. For some use cases, this is not an option, as a permanent connection of the device is necessary. In these cases, data pools are often used: The possible additional consumption of an M2M SIM is compensated by the lower consumption of other SIMs in the pool.

The misuse and misappropriation of the SIM card can be prevented by IMEI lock. This function prohibits the use of the SIM in a terminal other than the one assigned to it in the portal. This binding can only be removed via the portal. So if a SIM with IMEI lock is stolen from a device, this M2M SIM is useless in other terminals.

Safety and reliability

Security is essential for M2M communication. That is why mobile network providers already separate M2M connections from the rest of the data traffic in their core network. This is made possible by so-called APNs. These are private access points to the network. This APN must be entered once for the SIM so that it can enable the connection to the network at all. If the data traffic between the end device and the system is to be additionally protected, VPNs can also be used.

M2M tariffs and billing models

Unlike conventional data tariffs, M2M tariffs must cover a significantly larger bandwidth: The fluctuations in data requirements are only a few kilobytes or several gigabytes, depending on the application. For this reason, there are a variety of different tariff offers and billing models especially for M2M projects.

For example, the already mentioned data pooling. In this constellation, all active M2M SIMs use a joint data quota in which a lower consumption of SIM cards compensates for a higher data consumption of individual SIMs.

Was ist eine M2M-SIM-Karte?

M2M ist die Abkürzung für Machine-to-Machine und meint, dass Maschinen untereinander kommunizieren bzw. Daten austauschen. Eine M2M-SIM-Karte sorgt wiederum dafür, dass Maschinen und andere Geräte Zugang zum Internet oder Mobilfunknetz erhalten, um darüber Daten zu übermitteln. Wir erklären in diesem Überblick, was es mit M2M-SIM-Karten allgemein auf sich hat.

Ein Überblick: Merkmale und Besonderheiten von M2M-SIM-Karten

Eine M2M-SIM-Karte ist eine SIM-Karte, die es Geräten wie Alarmanlagen, Getränkeautomaten, LKWs und vielen anderen ermöglicht eine Verbindung zum Mobilfunknetz aufzubauen und darüber Daten zu übermitteln.

Eine “normale” SIM-Karte, wie man sie zum Beispiel vom eigenen Smartphone kennt, ist dafür nur bedingt geeignet. M2M-SIM-Karten unterscheiden sich zwar optisch nicht von SIMs für Smartphones, verfolgen aber einen anderen Zweck und bieten entsprechend andere Funktionen. Im Rahmen von M2M-Kommunikation ist es zum Beispiel wichtig, dass das Gerät möglichst überall und jederzeit eine Datenverbindung aufbauen kann. Das kann es nicht mit einer normalen SIM-Karte, sondern dafür benötigt es eine M2M-SIM-Karte.

Standard & Industrial: Unterschiedliche Formen und Eigenschaften von M2M-SIMs

Um den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen von Endgeräten und Maschinen gerecht zu werden, wurden und werden die SIM-Formate stetig weiterentwickelt. Damit die SIM-Karten selbst möglichst wenig Platz zu verbrauchen, hat sich die Größe deutlich reduziert und lässt so bei Bedarf mehr Raum für andere Bauteile. Grundsätzlich wird zwischen den SIM-Karten-Formaten Mini, Micro und Nano unterschieden. Zudem gibt es Embedded SIMs, die direkt als Chip  ins Modem eingelötet werden. Neben der Standardausführung sind die unterschiedlichen Formate auch als “Industrial SIM” verfügbar. Diese robustere Variante ist z. B. für einen erweiterten Temperaturbereich und eine längere Nutzungsdauer ausgelegt.

SIM-Formate der whereversim
Verfügbare SIM-Formate
Betriebstemperatur
Lese-/Schreibzyklen
Datenhaltung
Standard M2M-SIM

-25°C bis +85°C

Lese-/Schreibzyklen

500.000

10 Jahre

Industrial M2M-SIM

-40°C bis +105°C

1.000.000

10 Jahre bei -40°C bis +105°C
15 Jahre bei -25°C bis +85°C

2FF, 3FF, 4FF

2FF, 3FF, MFF2


Netzzugang: Mehr Netze für IoT-Projekte

M2M-SIMs können sowohl national als auch international eine Vielzahl von Mobilfunknetzen unterschiedlicher Netzbetreiber nutzen (National Roaming) und ermöglichen damit nahezu überall eine Verbindung für IoT- und M2M-Projekte. Herkömmliche SIM-Karten nutzen gerade im Inland für gewöhnlich nur das Netz des SIM ausgebenden Netzbetreibers, also dem Anbieter, mit dem der Mobilfunkvertrag abgeschlossen wurde. Die Verfügbarkeit dieses einen Netzes schwankt allerdings je nach Standort: mal gibt es guten Empfang, mal gibt es gar keinen. 

Damit es im Rahmen von IoT- und M2M-Projekten möglichst nicht zu Verbindungsabbrüchen kommt, können M2M-SIM-Karten auch im Inland die Netze unterschiedlicher Netzbetreiber (in Deutschland Telekom, Vodafone und O2) nutzen. M2M-SIM-Karten werden daher auch als Multinetz-SIM oder Roaming-SIM bezeichnet.

Aber auch bei M2M-SIM-Karten gibt es Unterschiede im Netzzugang: Die SIMs von unabhängigen Unternehmen, so wie es die wherever SIM ist, bevorzugen kein Mobilfunknetz und erlauben dadurch dem Gerät die Verbindung an das bestmögliche Netz am Standort. Man spricht in diesem Kontext auch von Netzunabhängigkeit oder ungesteuerten Roaming. Die M2M-SIMs der großen Netzbetreiber priorisieren in der Regel das eigene Netz. Bevor sich ein Endgerät also mit dem Netz eines anderen Mobilfunkbetreibers verbinden darf, muss das eigene Netz nicht mehr verfügbar sein. Bis dahin bleibt das Gerät – egal wie schlecht der Empfang auch ist – immer in dem Netz des einen Netzbetreibers. Gerade für Projekte, in denen es dauerhaft auf eine starke und zuverlässige Verbindung ankommt, kann diese Priorisierung von Netzen zum Nachteil werden.

SIM-Verwaltung und Monitoring via Plattform

M2M-SIM-Karten sind zur einfacheren Verwaltung an eine Plattform angebunden. Darüber werden sowohl die SIM-Karten als auch zugehörige Endpunkte konfiguriert. Beispielsweise können darüber unter anderem Serviceprofile für M2M-SIMs eingerichtet, SIM-Karten aktiviert sowie deaktiviert oder auch Mobilfunknetze für die Nutzung ausgeschlossen (Blacklisting) werden.

Zusätzlich ist über solche Portale ein umfassendes Monitoring möglich. Anwender sehen dort etwa den Status des Endgerätes, ob und mit welchem Netz die SIM-Karte verbunden ist und wie viele Daten sie überträgt. Im Problemfall helfen unterschiedliche Diagnosefunktionen wie ein Fern-Reset der SIM-Karte.

Bei wherever SIM bieten wir für eine einfachere Verwaltung der M2M-SIM-Karten neben einem übersichtlichen Onlineportal auch eine umfassende API, über die die Daten aus dem wherever SIM-Portal in eigene Systeme überführt werden können.

Monitoring und Überwachung

Neben der technischen Performance ist das Onlineportal ein wichtiges Tool zur Überwachung der SIM-Karten vor Missbrauch, unsachgemäßer Nutzung oder unerwartet hohen Kosten. 

Die Kostenkontrolle kann über verschiedene Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten erfolgen. Über die Konfiguration erlaubter Netze und Länder wird sichergestellt, dass sich Endgeräte ausschließlich gemäß der gebuchten Tarife verbinden. Ergänzende Datenlimits und Benachrichtigungen verhindern einen Mehrverbrauch an Daten (overconsumption / overuse) oder informieren zumindest rechtzeitig, um weitere Entscheidungen zu treffen. Ist ein Datenlimit gesetzt und erreicht, kann das Gerät allerdings keine weiteren Daten mehr übertragen, sofern das Limit nicht ausgesetzt wird. Für einige Anwendungsfälle ist das keine Option, da eine dauerhafte Verbindung des Gerätes notwendig ist. In diesen Fällen wird gerne auf Datenpools zurückgegriffen: Der eventuelle Mehrverbrauch einer M2M-SIM wird durch den niedrigeren Verbrauch anderer SIMs im Pool ausgeglichen.

Dem Missbrauch und der Zweckentfremdung der SIM-Karte lässt sich durch IMEI-Lock verhindern. Diese Funktion verbietet die Nutzung der SIM in einem anderen Endgerät, als dem ihr im Portal zugewiesenen. Diese Bindung lässt sich nur über das Portal aufheben. Wird also eine SIM mit IMEI-Lock aus einem Gerät entwendet, ist diese M2M-SIM in anderen Endgeräten nutzlos.

Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit

Sicherheit ist essentiell für M2M-Kommunikation. Deswegen trennen Mobilfunkanbieter bereits in ihrem Kernnetz M2M Verbindungen vom restlichen Datenverkehr. Möglich machen das sogenannte APNs. Dabei handelt es sich um private Zugangspunkte zum Netz. Dieser APN muss einmalig für die SIM eingegeben werden, damit diese überhaupt die Verbindung in Netze ermöglichen kann. Soll der Datenverkehr zwischen Endgerät und System zusätzlich geschützt werden, können zusätzlich VPN zum Einsatz kommen.

M2M-Tarife und Abrechnungsmodelle

Anders als herkömmliche Datentarife müssen M2M-Tarife eine deutlich größere Bandbreite abdecken: Die Schwankungen im Datenbedarf liegen je nach Anwendungsfall bei nur wenigen Kilobyte oder mehreren Gigabyte. Aus diesem Grund gibt es eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Tarifangebote und Abrechnungsmodelle speziell für M2M-Projekte.

Beispielsweise das bereits erwähnte Datenpooling. In dieser Konstellation nutzen alle aktiven M2M-SIMs ein gemeinschaftliches Datenkontingent, in dem ein niedrigerer Verbrauch von SIM-Karten einen höheren Datenverbrauch einzelner SIMs ausgleicht.